Council Information

Council Background:  With some 220 kms of the mighty River Murray flowing through the region, along with ancient cliffs and thriving farmland, Mid Murray Council is a diverse and picturesque landscape.  The Mid Murray Council was formed on 1 July, 1997 through the amalgamation of the District Council of Mannum, District Council of Morgan, District Council of Ridley-Truro and part of the District Council of Mount Pleasant.  The Council area comprises land within regions generally known as the Murraylands, Riverland and the eastern slopes of the Mount Lofty Ranges.

Offices:  The principal office of Council is situated in Mannum.  This is the site for Council’s administration, infrastructure & field services and finance functions.  The Cambrai Council Office houses the planning, building control and environmental health functions.

General Statistics


6,273 square kilometres


8,642 (2016 Census)

Length of Council Roads

3,383 kms







Employees (includes part-time employees)

126 (99 FTEs)

Population:  The population of the Mid Murray Council is 8,642 (2016 Census) residents.  At any given time there are significantly more additional visitors residing in the community as tourists or people frequenting their holiday home. At peak tourist season from December to February the population grows to almost 20,000.

Employment:  The major employment in the region is linked to primary production (broad acre grains, livestock, horticulture, fruit, nuts and wine grapes), tourism and hospitality, health and community services, construction and building, education, light manufacturing and business services.  The regional centre of Mannum and other townships also provide a range of retail and some public service facilities.

Council Area:  The Mid Murray Council covers an area of 6,273 square kilometres.  The township of Mannum is located 89 kilometres east of Adelaide on the banks of the Murray River.  The Mid Murray Council’s road network is extensive and is the second largest of local government areas in South Australia totalling 3,383 kms.  Mid Murray Council shares boundaries with 8 other South Australian councils plus the Outback Areas Community Development Trust. These are Rural City of Murray Bridge, Barossa Council, Regional Council of Goyder, Light Regional Council, Adelaide Hills Council, District Council of Mount Barker, District Council of Loxton Waikerie and District Council of Karoonda East Murray.

Council Ward Map