

MEDIA RELEASE

MID MURRAY COUNCIL ANNOUNCES NEWLY ELECTED MEMBERS

Mid Murray's latest team of Elected Members has been announced, including a mix of new and returning faces.

Provisional results of the Local Government election for Mid Murray Council were released on Saturday, 12 November, following a postal ballot held throughout October and early November.

Voters have elected former Deputy Mayor Simone Bailey as Mayor, replacing outgoing Mayor Dave Burgess. Cr Bailey received 1655 first preference votes to be elected ahead of Dave Burgess (934) and former Councillor Kevin Myers (471).

"I am honoured to have been elected by the Mid Murray community to serve as their Mayor," Cr Bailey said.

"It has been a privilege to serve the district as a Shearer Ward Councillor for the past four years, and Deputy Mayor for the past two years. I'm looking forward to working with the newly elected team – including many new faces – to continue to represent the interests of our community.

"The Mid Murray district is an enviable place to live, work and visit and there are many exciting Council projects and initiatives ahead that will build upon this. I'm also well aware that our area faces some immediate challenges, with the rising cost of living impacting households and businesses, and the Murray River flooding that is already affecting our river towns. These issues will be priorities for me as I step into my new role."

In the Murray Ward, new Councillor Geoff Barber and previous Councillor Roslyn Schultz were elected, to represent an area which covers towns including Keyneton, Sedan, Cambrai, Swan Reach, Walker Flat and Bowhill.

In the Eyre Ward, returning Councillor John Forrester was elected, along with new Elected Member Jen Davis were elected to serve the area covering Cadell, Morgan, Mt Mary, Blanchetown and Truro.

This follows four Councillors being elected unopposed in the Shearer Ward prior to the opening of voting. Among these are three new members – Kelly Gladigau, Victoria Hammond and Mandy Toczek McPeake – and returning Elected Member, Cr Kirsty MacGregor. The Shearer Ward includes towns such as Tungkillo, Palmer, Mannum, Ponde and Younghusband.

Mid Murray Council Chief Executive Officer Ben Scales congratulated the new members on their election, and thanked the outgoing Elected Members for their service.

"Serving the local community as an Elected Member is a rewarding – and time-consuming – task, and we thank all of our retiring and outgoing members for their dedication and service to the Mid Murray community," Mr Scales said.

"I would like to acknowledge outgoing Mayor, Dave Burgess, for his contribution to the Mid Murray community over many years of dedicated service. Dave was elected to Council in May 2003, serving as Mayor since 2010, and has contributed significantly to the prosperity of the region across this time."

MEDIA CONTACT:



Former Deputy Mayor, Kevin Myers should also be acknowledged for his contribution and passion for the region and maritime heritage, over his 16 years as a Councillor, having been elected in November 2006.

Five Elected Members also retired at the end of the term of the previous Council, ahead of the recent Local Government election.

Councillors Jeff Hall (Murray Ward) and Peter Raison (Shearer Ward) each served 12 years since their election in 2010, while Cr Peter Smith served a collective three terms since 2000, totalling over 10 years on Council.

Cr Steven Hennessy (Murray Ward) served a four-year term after being elected in November 2018, and Cr Deb Brokenshire held her role for eight months following a supplementary election in Eyre Ward in March earlier this year.

"Our outgoing and retiring Elected Members have given much of their time and energy to working to represent the best interests of their local community and to secure positive outcomes in the form of support, investment and important services and infrastructure for the people of Mid Murray," Mr Scales said.

"On behalf of the community I thank them for their contributions over many years of dedicated service.

"I look forward to working with the Mayor elect and new team of Elected Members to continue to deliver Council's priority projects, programs and initiatives to assist our community, and enhance our district's livability and our strong local economy."

The new Elected Members will be sworn in this month, prior to their first Council meeting on 22 November.

For further information about the election results, visit www.mid-murray.sa.gov.au/elections.

- ENDS -